March 7th, 2012

Nobel Laureates and Intellectual Leaders

Dear Mr. President,

We strongly encourage you to nominate Professor Jeffrey Sachs, the Director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University and Special Advisor to United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, as the United States’ candidate for World Bank President.  We believe that Professor Sachs has the experience, expertise, and bold vision for the future needed to lead the World Bank at this critical moment in history.

The world is at a critical crossroads, and the next President must be one with the vision and experience to make the World Bank the leading institution in the fight against poverty. We strongly believe that Professor Sachs’ 25 years of leadership and experience in economic development make him the most qualified person for the job.

Professor Sachs has been a trusted advisor to dozens of heads of state for two decades, and is the foremost expert on tackling poverty and promoting sustainable development in a globalized world. His vision for the World Bank is one the world desperately needs – making the World Bank the nexus of a global network of government, the private sector, academia, science, and civil society, working together to deploy innovative technologies and solutions for development.

If the world community is serious about addressing the challenges of poverty alleviation and sustainable development, it is clear that the World Bank’s next president should be an accomplished professional who is ready to tackle these great challenges from day one.  We can think of no better person to play this critically important role than Professor Sachs, and we hope you will nominate him as the next President.


Eric Maskin, Economic Sciences, 2007

Edmund Phelps, Economic Sciences, 2006

Peter Agre, Chemistry, 2003

Paul Greengard, Physiology or Medicine, 2000

Eric Kandel, Physiology or Medicine, 2000

Sir Harold Kroto, Chemistry, 1996

Richard J. Roberts, Physiology or Medicine, 1993

Robert W. Fogel, Economic Sciences, 1993

Oscar Arias Sánchez, Peace, 1987

Yuan T. Lee, Chemistry, 1986

Hamilton O. Smith, Physiology or Medicine, 1978

Myrna M. Weissman, Widow of Marshall Nirenberg, Physiology or Medicine, 1968

James Hansen, Director, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies

Jeffrey A. Hoffman, NASA Astronaut

Robert Jay Lifton, Noted Author

Professor Jonathan Wilkenfeld, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for International Programs, University of Maryland


Related Articles:


Previous post:

Next post: